Skip to main content

Department for Education (DfE)


Ministerial departments in the UK government

The UK Government is divided up into departments. There are 23 ministerial departments.

1. Her Majesty's Treasury (HMT)

2. Foreign, Commonwealth & Development Office

3. Home Office (HO)

4. Cabinet Office (CO)

5. Ministry of Justice (MoJ)

6. Ministry of Defence (MoD)

7. Department for Education (DfE)

8. Department of Health & Social Care

9. Department for Digital, Culture, Media & Sport

10. Department for Business, Energy & Industrial Strategy

11. Department for International Trade (DIT)

12. Department for Work & Pensions (DWP)

13. Department for Environment, Food & Rural Affairs (Defra)

14. Department for Levelling Up, Housing & Communities

15. Department for Transport (DfT)

16. Northern Ireland Office (NIO)

17. Office of the Secretary of State for Scotland 

18. Office of the Secretary of State for Wales

19. Office of the Leader of the House of Lords

20. Office of the Leader of the House of Commons

21. Attorney General's Office (AGO)

22. Office of the Advocate General for Scotland

23. UK Export Finance


Popular posts from this blog


Heraldry probably began with the knights in armour. When wearing a helmet in battle or in tournaments a knight could not be recognised; so he used symbols to decorate his shield and surcoat. The surcoat was the loose garment worn over the armour to protect it from rain or hot sun and actually was the "coat-of-arms"; it was decorated on the front and back with the same device as on the shield. The correct expression for entire design is an achievement . An achievement consists of the shield, helmet, rest, wreath, mantling and motto. These are the main parts. To them can be added supporters and a compartment. In the centre is the most important part, the shield . The surface of the shield is called the field  and on it the colourful charges are placed. The shield is called the arms or coat-of-arms  and can be drawn in any shape - in an upright position or slanting, which is the position it would fall into if hung on a peg. In Heraldry it slants to dexter. The helmet denot

You can find your Wireless Network Key on Virgin Media Wireless Router

We have a new netbook computer, and don't know where to find network key, which is needed to setup wireless connection. A network key may also be called WEP (Wired Equivalent Privacy) key or WPA (Wi-Fi Protected Access) key. A wireless network key is a security feature that prevents unauthorized users from accessing a wireless network. An unprotected network is an unlocked virtual door, anybody within range can piggyback on the network undetected. I use Virgin media broadband with a Virgin media wireless router, this router has a WPA key taped on the router, that WPA key is an English word consisting of 10 letters. To tape network key on the router is a good idea, because we may never lose or forget a wireless network key as long as we possess the router.

The Meaning of Derby City Council Logo

Derby City Logo The logo of Derby City Council looks quite abstract and modern. I wonder what's the meaning of it? The lower-left part of the logo looks like a snail (or the initial letter D in Derby?), the upper-right part seems a river, (Derwent river?) these two parts are connected by a straight line at the bottom. I did some searches on the web trying to find out the true meaning of Derby City Council logo, but without success. So, I wrote to tourist information, and got the answer from Michael: The Logo is a representation of two of Derby's oldest emblems, one being a ram the other a buck (deer). Obviously the logo is a modern interpretation of these two figures so it is not obvious unless you know what to look for. Most people do seem to agree with you that it looks like a snail however. Ram! the curly horn of ram looks like a snail indeed. The ram and the deer are from coat of arms of City of Derby, In this coats of arms, we can see the deers both in shield (arm